Portugal on stamps

After the restoration of democracy in 1974, Portugal could become a member of the Council of Europe, created in 1949 to develop democracy, human rights and freedoms, and the rule of law among European countries. The Council’s best know institution is the European Court of Human Rights. Portugal became the 19th member on 22 September 1976.

The stamps were designed by Álvaro Mendes, lithographed by the Mint on glazed paper sheets of 5×10 stamps with perforation 12×11½ and one phosphor band, and circulated from 28 January 1977 to 31 December 1983.

Stamp Print run Afinsa Gibbons Michel Scott Yvert
8.50 1,000,000 1318 1641 1348 1320 1328
10.00 500,000 1319 1642 1349 1321 1329


This post is tagged .

Leave a Reply

Usage tips

See the sidebar of the home page